Renaming Jefferson school.

ridski said:

In light of what's happening right now outside the Library of Congress...

This guy? I wonder what type of illness he’s got.

Klinker said:

It is said that people become "more themselves" as they age.  For some, this can be an ugly process.

I think they lose their filters. There’s no more need to pretend, that person they have become is actually the person they always were. 

I find this so upsetting. How can a name be changed so quickly. Don’t the citizens get any input. I graduated from Jefferson as did my children. How was this woman involved with Jefferson School. Jefferson was a great president. I think the Board of Ed needs a history lesson.

galileo said:

I find this so upsetting. How can a name be changed so quickly. Don’t the citizens get any input. I graduated from Jefferson as did my children. How was this woman involved with Jefferson School. Jefferson was a great president. I think the Board of Ed needs a history lesson.

Jefferson was a reasonable president, not great, and a slaveowner.  I applaud activism led by younger people.  Things don't have to be the way they were when we were kids.  Change is okay.

what an embarrassment.   

Change is okay?  Teenagers are influenced by adults. They had help.

galileo said:

Change is okay?  Teenagers are influenced by adults. They had help.

teenagers? It's an elementary school.

Anyway, I don't know why people get so upset at name changes. I went to a Jefferson elementary school myself, in NY. I could give a hoot if they changed to a better name. It's just a reflection of growth and maturity.

DB If you read the article it states students from CHS decided the change. Thus,teenagers.

galileo said:

DB If you read the article it states students from CHS decided the change. Thus,teenagers.