Caretaking 102 - The Aftermath

I'm also wondering if the nursing staff did a 'pinch' test for hydration (you see how quickly the skin falls back to normal plumpness), and tried to stimulate the sipping/swallow urge with a visual reminder (the bottle). It's something that would be used as a training strategy in rehab, so that the individual won't fall back into old habits.

Problem is, if they picked the wrong mix of electrolytes for an insulin-dependent diabetic it wouldn't be a good thing. Water is best.

Yep, the multidisciplinary case conference is a must!

Joan, have you called the town health dept? I recall you mentioned that you had a sleeping chair on the first floor for Bernie as he couldn't get up to the second floor. I think the town could offer you a hospital bed or other hospital equipment on a loner basis. I know it did at one time. Also, the dept. should be able to advise you what nursing care arrangements are available for in home care.

I am no medical expert, but from what you have observed thus far, getting Bernie back home might be better for both you and him. It seems a bit scary to me that the treatment plan required by a patient such as your husband seems to be missing. Perhaps this facility isn't geared for the acute care he needs

My DIL's uncle was just placed in an full care assisted living facility in Conn. After a stint in rehab. He has multiple issues, PD, cerebral palsy, he is a diabetic, as well. The point of all this is to say the family hasto provide round the clock private nurses for him at $20 an hour. If you keep Bernie where he is now, perhaps hiring private nurses is the right way to go.